SOS Coalition - Fishermen's Finest

Fishermen's Finest is thankful for the support for and from the Coalition to Save our Ship www.saveourshipcoalition.org

With over 100 member companies, the coalition reflects support throughout the maritime sector for projects that recapitalize our aging fishing fleet and keep our shipyards strong, such as the construction of the state-of-the-art freezer/factory trawler AMERICA’S FINEST at Dakota Creek Shipyard in Anacortes, WA.

Website:  www.saveourshipcoalition.org 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/saveourshipcoaltion

MISSION STATEMENT 

Coalition to Save Our Ship’s mission is to bring together those invested in preserving Washington shipbuilding infrastructure and to create jobs by revitalizing the North Pacific fishing fleet, spread awareness of the many ways the maritime industry benefits the community, and to advocate for positions that strengthen our shipbuilders, fishermen and those who depend on them.

Our Call to Action

Save our Ship is a coalition devoted to saving hundreds of shipbuilding and fishing jobs that are at risk in Washington state. We represent communities, individuals and businesses who depend on a robust maritime economy. Our call is united and clear: to protect and uphold the significant economic contributions of the shipbuilding, fishing and maritime industries.

At stake is the Dakota Creek Industries shipyard in Anacortes, WA, and the state-of-the-art fishing vessel that is nearing completion in their yard. When Dakota Creek began construction of the America’s Finest, they were unaware of a regulation that limits the amount of foreign-worked steel that can go into a U.S.-built hull.

ABOUT S.O.S.

Without a waiver from the United States Congress from those rules, America’s Finest will be banned from fishing in U.S. waters, and is likely to be sold to a Russian fishing company at a disastrous loss. Such a setback may bankrupt Dakota Creek, endanger its 350 family wage jobs and halt the creation of 100 new high paying jobs aboard America’s Finest. This blow would not only devastate the local Anacortes community – it would send shockwaves through the maritime supply chain, at the cost of Washington state jobs that pay an average salary of more than $70,000 per year.

A Jones Act waiver that would allow America's Finest to fish and operate in American waters has already cleared the House of Representatives, and is currently under consideration in the United States Senate.   

Save Our Ship’s mission is to coordinate all those invested in preserving the Washington shipbuilding industry, spread awareness of the many ways the industry benefits the community, and to advocate for positions that strengthen our shipbuilders and fishermen. With your continued help, the support of our community, and the leadership of public officials, we can protect our vital shipyards and our maritime economy.

SOS Founding Partners:
Coastal Transportation coastaltransportation.com
Port of Anacortes portofanacortes.com
Anacortes Chamber of Commerce anacortes.org
Ballard Industrial ballardindustrial.com
Alaska Ship Supply alaskashipsupply.com
North Pacific Fuel petrostar.com
Port of Skagit portofskagit.com
Aleutian Spray Fisheries, Inc. starboats.com
North Pacific Fishing Vessel Owner's Association npfvoa.org
Marine Safety Service marinesafetyseattle.com
Tacoma Diesel & Equipment, Inc. tacomadiesel.com
Northstar Terminal Stevedore northstarak.com
Marel Seattle marel.com
Transgroup transgroup.com
Dantrawl dantrawl.com
Vaughan chopperpumps.com
Kruger & Sons Propeller krugerpropeller.com
Fusion Marine Technology fusionmarinetech.com
McVay's Mobile Welding mcvaysmobilewelding.com
Carsoe US carsoe.dk/u-s.aspx
Reisner Distributor, Inc. reisnerdistributor.com
Fremont Tug facebook.com/Fremont-Boat-Company
Mavrik mavrikmarine.com
T Bailey Inc. tbailey.com
Alpha Welding & Boat Repair alphaweldingandboatrepair.com
Harry von Stark FloatingSteel.com
Bering Sea Office & Electronics beringseaofficeandelectronics.com
Governor Control Systems govconsys.com
George Brooms Sons, Inc. georgebroom.com
Davis Schueller, Inc. davisschueller.com
Thyboron Trawldoor www.thyboron.dk
Swan Net swannetusa.com
HP Dutch Harbor hpdh.net
Sundance Stevedoring LLC
Aleutian Expeditors facebook.com/Aleutian-Expeditors
Hampidjan www.hampidjan.is
Ship Electronics Inc. shipelectronicsinc.com
Sysco seattle.sysco.com
Paramount Supply Company paramountsupply.com
Pacific Power Group pacificpowergroup.com
Mackay Marine mackaycomm.com
Lafferty's EMS laffertysems.com
Western Fire & Safety westernfireandsafety.com
Wesern Towboat Company westerntowboat.com
Bowman Refrigeration bowmanrefrigeration.com
Optimar US www.optimar.no
Logo Unltd logounltd.com
NET Systems net-sys.com
DH Claims Resources dhclaimresources.com
Aleutian Challenger/Meddar Corp
Harris Electric harriselectricinc.com
Sparks sparksbelting.com
The Buying Network thebuyingnetwork.com
American Diagnostics americandiagnostics.net
Palfinger US palfinger.com/marine
MAN Diesel US dieselturbo-north-america.man.eu
Labels Plus labelsplus.com
Marine & Construction Supplies LLC mcsllcusa.com
Saltwater Inc. saltwaterinc.com
Rena International rena-international.com
Ockerman Automation 
Haarslev US haarslev.com
Littlefield Packaging www.bagusa.com
Skagit Bank skagitbank.com
Dakota Creek Industries dakotacreek.com
Westward Design westwarddesign.com
Centa www.centa.info
Volvo Penta volvopenta.com
City of Anacortes cityofanacortes.org
Simplex Americas simplexamericas.com
Bayshore bayshoreoffice.com
Lynden Sheet Metal Inc. lyndensheetmetal.com 
Central Welding Supply centralwelding.com
Saltchuck Mercantile saltchuckmercantile.com
Beck beckelectric.com
Transpac Marinastranspacmarinas.com
Beckwith & Kuffel b-k.com
Cozen O'Connor cozen.com
Island Hydraulics, Inc. kodiak.org
Nielsen Shields nielsenshields.com
Greenline Fishing Gear greenlinefishinggear.com
Becker Marine Systems becker-marine-systems.com
Scan Pacific Marine scanpacificmarine.com
MAN | PrimeServ www.dieselturbo-north-america.man.eu
Seaport Steel seaportsteel.com
Fitch PFS fitchfuelcatalyst.com
Cheyette & Associates, Inc. cheyette.com
Simrad km.kongsberg.com
Kinematics Marine Equipment kinematicsmarine.com
io Currents iocurrents.com
Ship Interior Systems shipinteriorsystems.com
Covich Williams covichwilliams.com
Brunvoll www.brunvoll.no
Economic Development Alliance of Skagit County skagit.org
Sound Propeller Systems soundprop.com
Evraz evrazna.com
Greater Kirkland Chamber of Commerce kirklandchamber.org
Toyota Lift NW toyotaliftnorthwest.com
MacArtney Underwater Technology macartney.com
Noax Technologies noax.com
Karl Senner LLC karlsenner.com
Sovereign Wealth Advisors sovereignwa.com
Hunnicutt's Incorporated hunnicutts.net
Kidder Matthews kiddermathews.com
Nichimo nichimo.co.jp/english/
Mundt MacGregor mundtmac.com
Parker Smith & Feek psfinc.com
Ibercisa www.ibercisa.es
Alaska Weathervane Seafoods alaskascallop.net
Can-Am Fabrication facebook.com/Can-Am-Fabrication
Rozema Boat Works rozemaboatworks.com
Sedro-Woolley Chamber of Commerce sedro-woolley.com
Libra Marine Doors www.libra.no
W&O Supply wosupply.com
Alaska Marine Coatings facebook.com/paintingboats
The Blue Line www.blueline.dk
BibbiCo bibbico.com
Libra Marine libra-marine.com
I Work Wise workwise.com
Anacortes Yacht Club anacortesyachtclub.org
The Anacortes Family Center anacortesfamily.org
Anacortes Parks Foundation anacortesparksfoundation.org
Community Action of Skagit County communityactionskagit.org
Electronic Charts Company electroniccharts.com
Skagit Community Foundation skagitcf.org
Teknotherm Refrigeration teknotherm-inc.com
Ocean Guardian oceanguardian-og.org
Miramar fishmachines.com
Blackball Ferry Line cohoferry.com
Sogda Ltd. sogda.com
City of Mt. Vernon mountvernonwa.gov
Branom Instrument Co. branom.com
Auto Plus pistonservice.com
Metalistics metalistics.com
Boys & Girls Clubs of Skagit County skagitraisesgreatkids.org
Chad Fisher Construction cfisherconstruction.com
Pump Industries pumpindustries.com
PPG Paints ppgpaints.com
S
kipsteknisk skipsteknisk.com
Keystone Construction Services keystonebuilding.com
Woods Logging Supply, Inc. woodsindustrialsupply.com
Alaska Maritime Agencies alaskamaritime.com
City of Sedro Woolley ci.sedro-woolley.wa.us
Ruby Pet 
Hundested Propeller US, Inc. hundestedpropeller.dk
Pacific Marine Equipment pacificmarineequipment.com
Majestic Inn & Spa majesticinnandspa.com
Pacific Rim Marine Surveyors pacrimmarine.com
Barrett Financial barrettfinancialltd.com
Mascoat mascoat.com
Vander Houwen Public Relations vhpr.com
General Steamship Agencies gensteam.com
Atlantic www.atlantic.no
Sperre sperre.com
Caterpillar cat.com
Adrift skagiteats.com/AdriftRestaurant
Ocean Power oceanpower.us
Optimarin optimarin.com

Please also visit the Facebook Page that the SOS Coalition has established www.facebook.com/saveourshipcoalition/